Home → Blogs → BLOG@CACM → Athena Award Nominations Closing Soon! → Full Text

Athena Award Nominations Closing Soon!

By Valerie Barr

January 23, 2013

[article image]

What do Deborah Estrin, Karen Sparck Jones, Shafi Goldwasser, Susan Eggers, Mary Jane Irwin, Judith Olson, and Nancy Lynch all have in common?  Beyond their international acclaim as computing researchers, they also have in common that they were all honored by being named an Athena Lecturer by ACM-W, the ACM Council on Women in Computing.

Each year, the Athena Lecturer honors a preeminent woman computer scientist.  The awardee is chosen out of a pool of nominations made by the ACM SIG officers.  She gives an invited talk at an ACM conference determined by the SIG and the awardee, and receives a $10,000 honorarium graciously provided by Google.

Have someone in mind who you think should be nominated?  Take a look at the nomination information, and contact your SIG leadership.  Nominations for the 2013-2014 Athena Lecturer will close on Feb. 1, 2013.


No entries found