Home → News → President Honors Outstanding Early-Career Scientists → Full Text

President Honors Outstanding Early-Career Scientists

By The White House

November 9, 2010

President Obama earlier this month named 85 researchers as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.

The Presidential early career awards embody the high priority the Obama Administration places on producing outstanding scientists and engineers to advance the Nation's goals, tackle grand challenges, and contribute to the American economy. Ten Federal departments and agencies join together annually to nominate the most meritorious scientists and engineers whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for assuring America's preeminence in science and engineering and contributing to the awarding agencies' missions.

"Science and technology have long been at the core of America's economic strength and global leadership," President Obama said. "I am confident that these individuals, who have shown such tremendous promise so early in their careers, will go on to make breakthroughs and discoveries that will continue to move our nation forward in the years ahead."

The awards, established by President Clinton in 1996, are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach. Winning scientists and engineers have received research grants for up to five years to further their studies in support of critical government missions.

This year's recipients are:

Department of Agriculture

  • Lee K. Cerveny, Forest Service
  • Michael L. Looper, Agricultural Research Service
  • Jeffrey S. Ross-Ibarra, University of California, Davis

Department of Commerce

  • R. David Holbrook, Jr., National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Daniel S. Hussey, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Ian B. Spielman, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Matthew J. Menne, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • Charles A. Stock, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  • J. Christopher Taylor, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Department of Defense

Department of Education

Department of Energy

  • Ilke Arslan, University of California, Davis
  • Eric D. Bauer, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Jeremy T. Busby, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Gavin E. Crooks, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Juan Estrada, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
  • Dillon D. Fong, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Jacob M. Hooker, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Gianluca Iaccarino, Stanford University
  • De-en Jiang, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Sergei V. Kalinin, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Trent R. Northen, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Elena V. Shevchenko, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Jacob G. Wacker, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory

Department of Interior

Department of Veterans Affairs

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

  • Matthew J. Oliver, University of Delaware
  • Rahul Ramachandran, The University of Alabama in Huntsville

National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services

National Science Foundation


No entries found