Home → News → Abel Prize in Mathematics Shared by Trailblazers of... → Full Text

Abel Prize in Mathematics Shared by Trailblazers of Probability and Dynamics

By The New York Times

March 19, 2020

[article image]

Two mathematicians who showed how an underappreciated branch of the field could be employed to solve important problems share this year's Abel Prize, the mathematics equivalent of a Nobel.

The winners are Hillel Furstenberg, 84, of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, and Gregory Margulis, 74, of Yale University. Both are retired professors.

The citation for the prize, awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, lauds the two mathematicians "for pioneering the use of methods from probability and dynamics in group theory, number theory and combinatorics."

From The New York Times
View Full Article



No entries found