Home → News → 2021 CRA Distinguished Service and A. Nico Habermann... → Full Text

2021 CRA Distinguished Service and A. Nico Habermann Awardees Announced

By Computing Research Association

March 3, 2021

[article image]

The CRA board of directors is pleased to announce its selections for the 2021 CRA Awards.

Mary Jane Irwin – A. Nico Habermann Award Recipient
Emerita Evan Pugh University Professor, Pennsylvania State University 

Mary Jane Irwin was selected to receive the 2021 A. Nico Habermann Award in recognition of her more than 30 years of diversity efforts, both in academia at Penn State University and in professional organizations, including the CRA Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research (CRA-W), the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Her work in these organizations across three decades has increased the number of women and other under-represented groups in computing at universities (as faculty and students) and as fellows and award recipients.

She was a founding member of CRA-W, served as a steering committee member for more than 20 years, and spearheaded many of the activities and initiatives that we now think of as regular events. Irwin served on the ACM Council, as ACM Vice President, and her work on the ACM Fellow Selection Committee helped to double the number of women elected. She was also instrumental in pushing the NAE to diversify its ranks.


From Computing Research Association
View Full Article



No entries found