Home → News → Celebrating Those Who Advance Computing as a Science... → Full Text

Celebrating Those Who Advance Computing as a Science, Profession


May 17, 2023

[article image]

ACM has recognized four people with its 2022 Service Awards for expanding its mission of "Advancing Computing as a Science and Profession."

ACM named Michael E. Caspersen at Denmark's Aarhus University to receive the Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award for his computer science education research, national and international policy efforts to further informatics education, and exceptional service to the computing education community.

The University of California, Irvine's Ramesh Jain will receive the ACM Distinguished Service Award for founding ACM's Special Interest Group for Multimedia, and for 40 years of leadership and commitment to ACM and the computing community.

In recognition of 27 years of dedicated service and leadership, Joseph A. Konstan at the University of Minnesota will receive the Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award, while the University of California, Berkeley's Jelani Nelson will receive the ACM Eugene L. Lawler Award for establishing the AddisCoder nonprofit to educate underserved students across Ethiopia.

From ACM
View Full Article


Abstracts Copyright © 2023 SmithBucklin, Washington, DC, USA


No entries found